Got a Minute? The Day of Silence

Hi, friends in exile, got a minute?

Today is filled with mixed meaning for me. We just returned home last evening from a visit to my brother’s ranch in another state. He passed suddenly in an accident related to what might be called his hobby cattle business. I am still coming to terms with this loss of my only sibling. As always, I am trying to find a reason for this sudden turn of events, and I will probably have to wait to do so—but not forever.

Today is what I have come to call Holy Saturday, the day between Good Friday and Resurrection Sunday. On Good Friday, Jesus died for the sins of the world. The following Sunday, He conquered death in his resurrection (see 1 Corinthians 15). On Saturday …, nothing happened. Silence. Jesus had taught His disciples to expect Him to be killed by jealous religious leaders and then to be raised to life again. But that was hard to grasp. I grapple with my brother’s death, but I do so with the help of the One Who is the Resurrection and the Life (see John 11).

Smiley Mudd

Leave a comment